Scholarships for American Indians


Tribes and Nations  - Misc. and Other Minorities


Cap Lathrop Endowment Scholarship Fund

Cook Inlet Region, Inc.
Attn: The CIRI Foundation
3600 San Jeronimo Drive, Suite 256
Anchorage, AK 99508-2870
(907) 793-3575 Toll-free: (800) 764-3382
Fax: (907) 793-3585


To provide financial assistance for undergraduate or graduate studies in media-related fields to Alaska Natives and their lineal descendants.


This program is open to Alaska Native enrollees under the Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act (ANCSA) of 1971 and their lineal descendants. Proof of eligibility must be submitted. Applicants may be enrollees of any of the 13 ANCSA regional corporations, but preference is given to (CIRI) who have a GPA of 3.0 or higher. There are no Alaska residency requirements or age limitations.

Applicants must be accepted or enrolled full time in a:


  • 2-year undergraduate
  • 4-year undergraduate
  • graduate degree program.

They must be majoring in a media-related field (e.g., telecommunications, broadcast, business, engineering, journalism) and planning to work in the telecommunications or broadcast industry in Alaska after graduation. Along with their application, they must submit a 500-word statement on their educational and career goals and how they are contributing, or planning to contribute, to a positive Alaska Native community.

Selection is based on:

  • that statement
  • academic achievement
  • rigor of course work or degree program
  • student financial contribution
  • financial need
  • grade level
  • previous work performance
  • community service
  • and relationship of degree programs to career goals.

Financial Data:

The stipend is $3,500 per year. Funds must be used for tuition, university fees, books, required class supplies, and campus housing and meal plans for student who must live away from their permanent home to attend college. Checks are sent directly to the recipient’s school.


1 year (2 semesters)

Additional Information:

This program was established in 1997. Recipients must attend school on a full-time basis and must plan to work in the broadcast or telecommunications industry in Alaska upon completion of their academic degree.

Number Awarded:

1 each year.


May of each year.