Apprenticeship Classes at NIC
NIC Workforce Training Center offers a Federal and State approved program of Related Instruction for HVAC Apprentices. The 144 hours of instruction (required by the DOPL) are offered each year (approximately 16 hours/month). Classes begin in September and run through May/June. 100% ATTENDANCE OF ALL FACE-TO-FACE CLASSES IS MANDATORY.
Any person wishing to become an HVAC apprentice in Idaho must:
- Meet minimum age requirements of 16 years for HVAC. 16 and 17-year-old apprentices are required to enter a STRAP agreement with parental approval and signature.
- Register and obtain an apprentice card with the Idaho Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses (DOPL) and/or the State of WA, Department of Labor and Industries.
- Work in the trade under the supervision of a journeyman.
Class Fees and Registration
Program costs range from $1,750 to $1,800 per year. Tuition for apprentice courses includes instruction, course textbooks, state end-of-the-year testing, and materials. There are a limited number of scholarships available. Scholarship applications are available at the Workforce Training Center. The HVAC Apprenticeship also qualifies for Idaho Launch. www.idaholaunch.com
Full payment of tuition or enrollment in the payment plan is required at the time of registration. To register, contact the Workforce Training Center at (208) 769-3333 or firstname.lastname@example.org
For apprentice registration or additional information contact:
Idaho Division of Occupational and& Professional Licenses
1090 East Watertower Street, Suite 150 Meridian, Idaho 83642
(800) 955-3044 http://dbs.idaho.gov
WA State Dept.of Labor and Industries
901 N Monroe St., Spokane, WA 99201
(800) 509-8847 http://www.lni.wa.gov/tradeslicensing
Employment in the Trades
Most apprentices begin work with a contractor before beginning their Related Instruction (RI). However, it is not required that you be employed in the trades to take apprenticeship Electrical courses at NIC Workforce Training. If you are interested in finding work in the trades, look at the job board at NIC Workforce training, contact a local contractor, check job listings (such as craigslist and the local newspapers), and register with the Department of Labor. Contact information for contractors in electrical, plumbing, and HVAC can be found using online searches. For detailed wage and occupational information visit. www.webuildidaho.org
Becoming a Journeyman
To receive a journeyman’s license in the State of Idaho, there are three requirements:
- Work 8000 hours On-The-Job training (OJT) as an apprentice (2000 hours/year for four years)
- Attend and pass all four years (576 hours) of apprenticeship Related Instruction (RI) classes (minimum of 144 hours of instruction per year)
- Pass the state Journeyman exam
Associate of Applied Science (A.A.S.) Degree
The A.A.S. Degree is available through North Idaho College for Electrical, Plumbing, and HVACR apprentice students. Apprentice students who pass all four years of related instruction may be awarded 56 credits (14 credits per year). Degree-seeking students must complete a minimum of 15 additional credits in required subjects. Twelve of the 15 credits must be taken at NIC. There is a charge of $10 per credit, or $560, to have the credits transcribed. For more information, contact NIC Cardinal Central at (208) 769-3311.
NIC-PTE: Parker Technical Education Center: 7064 W Lancaster Road, Rathdrum, ID 83854
Contact WTC Customer Service at 208-769-3333 or email@example.com
The HVAC Apprenticeship Program is supported by the US Department of Labor through the CSG Grant. A total of $369,471, or 10% of the program is financed with federal funds over a four-year period.